Governance is a cornerstone of ACM SIGGRAPH’s mission to nurture, champion and connect researchers and practitioners of computer graphics and interactive techniques. The organization is managed by an Executive Committee with nine elected directors and two appointed members. Each year, the directors select officers, chair, chair-elect, treasurer and treasurer-elect.

Members of the Executive Committee are primarily responsible for oversight and strategic planning for ACM SIGGRAPH. They also serve as liaisons to the organization’s standing committees, lead strategy teams and conference advisory groups.

For more information on how ACM SIGGRAPH is governed, please see the ACM SIGGRAPH Policies and Bylaws.

Executive Committee

ACM SIGGRAPH’s executive committee is responsible for the following:

  • Set the strategic direction for the organization to best support the community of researchers, practitioners, and artists working in computer and graphics and interactive techniques
  • Promote technical and creative excellence, through taking an active role in the community as individuals
  • Adhere to the cultural expectations of the organization
  • Supervise the operational activities of the organization which include:
    • Providing benefits for ACM SIGGRAPH members within the scope and financial resources of the organization
    • Providing high-quality resources and programs (conferences, newsletters, etc.) within the scope of ACM SIGGRAPH’s mission statement
    • Promoting communication and interaction both within ACM SIGGRAPH and between ACM SIGGRAPH and the broader community
    • Overseeing conferences, symposia and workshops, both for quality and fiscal soundness
    • Promoting and publicizing ACM SIGGRAPH achievements

Nominations for the ACM SIGGRAPH executive committee may be submitted in July of the year prior to the beginning of the position term. To submit a nomination, contact the ACM SIGGRAPH Nominations Committee Chair.

Voting Members of the Executive Committee

Jesse Barker

Unity Technologies
Term: 2020-2023

Brad Lawrence

Kennedy Space Center
Cape Canaveral, Florida USA
Term: 2021-2024

Mona Kasra

EC Chair-elect of ACM SIGGRAPH
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Virginia USA
Term: 2022-2025 (2nd Term)

David Spoelstra

Term: 2023-2026 (2nd Term)

Elizabeth Baron

Unity Technologies
Term: 2020-2023

Shi-Min Hu

Tsinghua University
Beijing, China
Term: 2022-2025

Masa Inakage

Keio University Graduate School of Media Design
Yokohama, Japan
Term: 2021-2024

Eakta Jain

University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida
Term: 2022-2025

Barbara Mones

University of Washington in Seattle
Washington, USA
Term: 2021-2024

Hanspeter Pfister

Harvard University
Term: 2020-2023

Mikki Rose

Conference Advisory Group Chair
Mikros Animation
New York, US
Term: 2023-2026 (2nd Term)

Ex-Officio and Other Non-Voting Members of the Executive Committee

Prakash Ramajillu

SIGGRAPH Asia Conference Chief Staff Executive
Koelnmesse GmbH

Marcia Daudelin

SIGGRAPH Conference Event Director

Ashley Cozzi

ACM Program Director
Association for Computing Machinery
New York, New York USA

Tomasz Bednarz

SIGGRAPH Asia Conference Advisory Group Chair
NVIDIA Corporation


DeAnna Dyhr

Project Manager

Ken Bauer

Systems Administrator
Tecnológico de Monterrey
Guadalajara, México

Committee Chairs

John F. Hughes

Awards Committee
Brown University
Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Term: 2021-2024 (2nd Term)

AJ Christensen

Chapters Committee
Urbana-Champaign, Illinois USA
Term: 2021-2024 (2nd Term)

Adele Newton

Communications Committee
Newton Associates
Term: 2021-2024
Rebecca Rulge Xu SIGGRAPH Member Profile Image

Rebecca Ruige Xu

Digital Arts Committee
Term: 2022-2025

Tony Baylis

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Livermore, California USA
Term: 2021-2024 (2nd Term)

Glenn Goldman

Education Committee
Hillier College of Architecture and Design at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT)
Newark, New Jersey
Term: 2021-2024

Joaquim Jorge

External Relations Committee
Term: 2022-2023

Mary Whitton

History Committee and 21st Century Digital Presence Strategy Committee
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Term: 2021-2024 (2nd Term)

Aaron Hosier

Information Technology Services Committee
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska USA
Term: 2021-2024 (4th Term)

Mark Billinghurst

Interactive and Immersive Committee
University of South Australia
Adelaide, Australia
Term: 2022-2025 (2nd Term)
Asiya Gizatulina

Asiya Gizatulina

International Resources Committee
Term: 2022-2025

Jonali Bhattacharyya

Lifelong Learning Committee
San Jose City College/Bits Bytes & Pixels
San Jose, CA
Term: 2020-2023

Barb Helfer

Membership Committee

Thierry Frey

Nominations Committee
Reel FX in Montreal
Montreal, Canada
Term: 2021-2024

Juan Miguel de Joya

Practitioner Career Development Committee
International Telecommunication Union
Term: 2021-2024

Stephen N. Spencer

Publications Committee
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington USA

Justin Solomon

Research Career Development Committee
MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory
Term: 2020-2023

Marisa (Ginger) Tontaveetong

S3 Early Career Development Committee
Term: 2020-2023

Paul Kry

Specialized Conferences Committee
McGill University
Term: 2020-2023

Award Committee Chairs

Glenn Goldman

Distinguished Educator Award Committee
Hillier College of Architecture and Design at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT)
Newark, New Jersey
Term: 2021-2024

Scott Owen

Outstanding Service Award Committee
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA
Term: 2023-2025

Tom Funkhouser

Technical Awards Committee
Mountain View, CA
Term: 2018-2023

Copper Giloth

Distinguished Artist Award Committee
University of Massachusetts
Massachusetts, USA
Term: 2021-2024

Mathieu Desbrun

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award Committee
Pasadena, CA
Term: 2021-2024

Hugues Hoppe

ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Committee
Term: 2021-2024

Mark Elendt

Practitioner Award Committee
Toronto, ON Canada
Term: 2021-2024

Advisory Group Chairs

Scott Owen

Governance Advisory Board Chair
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA
Term: 2021-2024 (2nd Term)

Mark Elendt

Computer Animation Festival Advisory Board Chair
Toronto, ON Canada
Term: 2022-2025

Victoria Szabo

Art Advisory Group Chair
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina USA
Term: 2023-2025 (2nd Term)

George Drettakis

Papers Advisory Group Chair
French National Institute for Computer Science and Applied Mathematics (Inria)
Term: 2020-2025

Community Group Chairs

Adriana Schulz

WiGRAPH Community Group Chair

Ed Kramer

Pioneers Community Group Chair
Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design
Denver, CO
Term: 2021-2024 (2nd term)


ACM SIGGRAPH’s executive committee consists of nine elected directors and two appointed members. The elected directors are elected by the ACM SIGGRAPH membership and serve three year terms. The officers, chair, chair-elect, treasurer, and treasurer-elect, are selected each year from the directors. All directors are required to be members of ACM and ACM SIGGRAPH.

Elections are conducted annually to fill open positions. This process is led by the chair of the nominations committee. Nominations for the ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee may be submitted in July of the year prior to the beginning of the position term. To submit a nomination, contact the ACM SIGGRAPH Nominations Committee Chair.