The ACM SIGGRAPH Academy is an honorary group of individuals who have made substantial contributions to the field of computer graphics. These are principal leaders of the field, whose efforts have shaped the disciplines and/or industry, and led the research and/or innovation in computer graphics and interactive techniques. The inaugural class of 2018 was formed from past SIGGRAPH award winners.

Current Recipients

Marc Alexa

Technical University of Berlin

For pioneering contributions in geometry processing, shape modeling, and digital fabrication.

Paolo Cignoni


For contributions in geometry processing and computational fabrication, and for releasing important open-source tools.

Hans-Peter Seidel

Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik

For contributions to spline and mesh processing, and for the impact of his research and mentorship.

Peter Shirley


For pioneering contributions in Monte Carlo rendering and real-time ray tracing, and for contributions to graphics education.

Previous Recipients

2021 ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Class

  • Karen Liu
  • Norm Badler
  • Mathieu Desbrun

    2020 ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Class

    • Kavita Bala
    • Elizabeth Baron
    • Eugene Fiume
    • Ming Lin
    • Hanspeter Pfister
    • Alla Sheffer

      2019 ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Class

      • Frederick Brooks
      • Marie-Paule Cani
      • Donna Cox
      • Dinesh Manocha
      • Ravi Ramamoorthi
      • Hanan Samet
      • Denis Zorin

        2018 ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Class

        • Ivan E. Sutherland
        • Donald P. Greenberg
        • Andries van Dam
        • Ed Catmull
        • José Luis Encarnação
        • James Foley
        • James F. Blinn
        • Pat Hanrahan
        • Tomoyuki Nishita
        • Nelson Max
        • Robert L. Cook
        • James T. Kajiya
        • Turner Whitted
        • Henry Fuchs
        • Jessica Hodgins
        • Lynn Hershman Leeson
        • Roman Verostko
        • Yoichiro Kawaguchi
        • Charles Csuri
        • Jean-Pierre Hébert
        • Manfred Mohr
        • Lillian Schwartz
        • Steina Vasulka
        • Ernest A. Edmonds
        • Monika Fleischmann
        • Loren Carpenter
        • Alan H. Barr
        • John Warnock
        • Alvy Ray Smith
        • Kurt Akeley
        • Marc Levoy
        • Przemyslaw Prusinkiewicz
        • Michael F. Cohen
        • Tony DeRose
        • David H. Salesin
        • David Kirk
        • Peter Schrӧder
        • Hugues Hoppe
        • Jos Stam
        • Thomas W. Sederberg
        • Greg Ward
        • Ken Perlin
        • Michael Kass
        • Richard Szeliski
        • Greg Turk
        • Holly Rushmeier
        • Thomas Funkhouser
        • Steve Marschner
        • Fredo Durand
        • Ramesh Raskar
        • Daniel Cohen-Or

          Criteria for Election to the ACM SIGGRAPH Academy

          • Cumulative contributions to the field of computer graphics and interactive techniques
          • Impact on the field through development of new research directions and/or innovations
          • Influence on the work of others
          • Reasonably active participant in the ACM SIGGRAPH community
          • All accomplished members of the ACM SIGGRAPH community will be eligible to be nominated including researchers, practitioners, technologists, artists, designers, and educators.

          Nomination Procedure

          ACM SIGGRAPH Academy members are selected by a ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Committee consisting of five voting members from across the SIGGRAPH community. Nominations for the ACM SIGGRAPH Academy may be submitted by contacting the SIGGRAPH Academy Chair before 31 January each year.


          • A brief summary (in English, maximum one page) explaining how the nominee meets the criteria
          • Supporting letters of exactly three endorsers. Endorsers should themselves have achieved distinction in the field. Endorsers will need to have personal knowledge of the candidate’s work. Endorsers will provide a brief endorsement statement giving their personal assessment of the candidate’s impact on the field.
          • Nominator’s name, address, telephone number, and email address.