The ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee is Recruiting for an Awards Committee Chair

Call open until Nov. 26, 2023

ACM SIGGRAPH is recruiting for a Chair for the Awards Committee.  This chair will join the ranks of the standing committee chairs who assist the Executive Committee in nurturing and supporting the community of computer graphics researchers and practitioners.

A listing of the current standing chairs and their roles can be found here:

The Awards Chair will supervise and facilitate all of the awards committees of ACM SIGGRAPH and organize the nomination of ACM SIGGRAPH members to higher ACM levels such as ACM Fellows and to ACM awards.

More specifically, the Awards Chair will be expected to:

  • Work with the chairs of the individual awards to ensure that sufficient nominations are received for each award
  • Work with the chairs to ensure that the announcements of the award winners receive appropriate publicity
  • Assist the EC in the appointment or renewal of the chairs for the individual award committees
  • Identify individuals in the Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques community who should be nominated for ACM Fellow and the major ACM awards and identify members of the community who can take on those nominations (additional sub-committee members may be added to assist with this process)
  • Preside over the awards ceremony at the conferences
  • Manage the operational details of the awards ceremony, awards talks, and rehearsals in collaboration with the contractors

A report of the activities of the awards committee should be presented to the SIGGRAPH Executive Committee in June of each year.   This role is expected to require about two hours/week averaged across the year.

The ACM SIGGRAPH awards are as follows:

  • SIGGRAPH Steven Anson Coons Award: Given to an individual who has made a significant lasting contribution to the field of computer graphics, both directly and through others over an extended period of time. The award is given in odd numbered years.
  • SIGGRAPH Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement in Digital Art: presented annually to an artist who has created a substantial and important body of work that significantly advances aesthetic content in the field of digital art.
  • SIGGRAPH Outstanding Service Award: Given annually to recognize an individual for outstanding service to SIGGRAPH by a volunteer who has given extraordinary service both in the trenches and in positions of more responsibility or visibility, over a significant period of time.
  • SIGGRAPH Computer Graphics Achievement Award: Given annually to recognize an individual for an outstanding achievement in computer graphics and interactive techniques. The award includes a $2,000 cash prize.
  • The SIGGRAPH Practitioner Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the practice and advancement of Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques. The award recognizes the very best and most influential applications and practitioners.
  • The SIGGRAPH Education Award recognizes a member for outstanding pedagogical contributions to computer graphics and interactive techniques at any educational level or within the context of any discipline. The award recognizes contributions in both innovative content and delivery.
  • SIGGRAPH Significant New Researcher Award: This annual award is given to a researcher who has made a recent significant contribution to the field of computer graphics and is new to the field. The intent is to recognize people very early in their careers who have already made a notable contribution and are likely to make more.
  • SIGGRAPH Doctoral Dissertation Award is awarded annually to recognize a recent doctoral candidate who has successfully defended and completed their Ph.D. dissertation in computer graphics and interactive techniques. This award recognizes young researchers who have already made a notable contribution very early during their doctoral study.
  • The ACM SIGGRAPH Academy is an honorary group of individuals who have made substantial contributions to the field of computer graphics and interactive techniques. These are principal leaders of the field, whose efforts have shaped the disciplines and/or industry, and led the research and/or innovation in computer graphics and interactive techniques. Five to eight members are expected to be inducted into the Academy each year.

If you are interested in this position, please contact: Thierry Frey