# ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

# Tuesday, April 12, 2021

2 - 3 PM PT/ 5 - 6 PM ET

#### Attendees:

Rhea Adur, Student Rep to the EC Adam Bargteil, Executive Committee Director Jesse Barker, Executive Committee Chair-elect Elizabeth Baron, Executive Committee Chair Tomasz Bednarz, SACAG Chair Marcia Daudelin, Conference Administration Brenda Drier, Conference Management Jenna Feldman, Project Manager Adam Finkelstein, Executive Committee Director Masa Inakage, Executive Committee Director Mona Kasra, Executive Committee Director Barbara Mones. Executive Committee Director Scott Owen. Governance Chair Hanspeter Pfister, Executive Committee Director Mikki Rose, Conference Advisory Group Chair David Spoelstra, Treasurer Cindy Stark, Conference Management

## Approve EC Meeting Minutes - March 29, 2022

a) Vote: APPROVED

#### 1) Update on Frontier's Program (Muunuu)

- a) Muunuu provided an update on the Frontiers Program to the EC.
  - i) For context, a presentation on the initial architecture of the 2022 hybrid conference was present to committee chairs in May 2021. Since then, they have been very involved throughout the process for planning/execution of the high-level vision set by Muunuu. It was reinforced throughout the planning process thus far, that the hybrid 2022 conference is entirely different and that no program would be the same as in prior years.
    - (1) Muunuu previewed the timeline of communication with the Frontiers program chair, noting that Muunuu has not received any proposal of what the program will look like.
    - (2) The EC agreed to take this conversation offline to find a way to accommodate the needs from the Frontiers program but also respect the outreach Muunuu has done and the original deadlines that were set, and to find a compromise.
      - (i) The group also agreed to consider virtual workshops. It was clarified that it's a matter of not having additional space for the workshops.

# 2) Request to appoint three new members to the Nominations Committee (Elizabeth)

- a) Jenny Dana
- b) Dena DeBry
- c) Larry Bafia
  - i) Vote: To approve the appointment of Jenny Dana, Dena DeBry, and Larry Bafia as members of the Nominations committee
    - (1) APPROVED

### 3) Standing Committee Items

- a) Focused Communities (Mona/Barbara)
  - i) Education Committee
    - (1) The group has concerns for the space to be used at the conference. There are historical uses and needs for the program that have yet to be discussed.
      - (a) The EC agrees that AJ and the Chapters committee are doing a great job of owning the organization of the 2022 ACM SIGGRAPH Village. But for some stakeholders, there is confusion about how their content will be included into the SIGGRAPH Village.
        - (i) The Standing Chairs and the EC would like more clarity on the organization of how the three current spaces allotted to EC content will be used and a schedule to be provided for the groups.
        - (ii) The Chapters committee plans to join upcoming meetings with standing chairs to provide more clarity around the spaces at the conference and an overall plan for in-person vs. virtual content and schedule of content for all to review. The EC agreed that having a concrete deadline provided to the stakeholders for conference planning is important.
      - (b) It was noted that before creating forms and getting content in Linklings and Hubb, that AJ and the chapters group come up with a plan for in-person vs. virtual content and how the ACM SIGGRAPH village will go about organizing their hybrid content for the conference.
  - ii) Lifelong learning
    - (1) The items in the tracker that were flagged were addressed within the Standing Chair grouping with the EC liaisons.
    - (2) Jonali, Ginger, and Juan and looking to use the space at the conference.

### 4) Governance Items (Scott)

- a) 6.3 Community groups
  - i) **First**, we are proposing the creation of a third type of ACM SIGGRAPH Sub-Group, Community Groups, in addition to Standing Committees and Advisory Boards. Community Groups are a subset of the ACM SIGGRAPH community who have a specialized common interest or demographic. Pioneers will be moved from the Advisory Board category into the Community Group category (Pioneers Chair Ed Kramer supports this). A section that will be inserted into the Policy Guidelines describing

Community Groups, their financial status within ACM SIGGRAPH, Chair selection, and oversight and integration into ACM SIGGRAPH is given below.

- (1) David moved, Barbara seconded
  - (a) Vote: Jesse, Mona, Elizabeth, David, Brad, Adam B., Adam F., Barbara, Masa, Mikki, and Hanspeter voted to approve
    - (i) APPROVED
- b) Specialized groups for Pioneers and WiGRAPH
  - i) **Second** we are proposing the incorporation of WiGRAPH into ACM SIGGRAPH as a Community Group.
    - (1) David moved, Barbara seconded
      - (a) Vote: Jesse, Mona, Elizabeth, David, Brad, Adam B., Adam F., Barbara, Masa, Mikki, and Hanspeter voted to approve
        - (i) APPROVED
- 5) SIGGRAPH Conference Future Cities Feedback (Mikki)
  - a) The CAG came up with a list of cities to reach out to for hosting 2024 and 2025. Once they have a defined list and have received approval from the EC, the CAG will request RF's from cities and will move forward based on RFP's.
    - i) The EC will continue this discussion via email.
- 6) Conference Management/Administration Update (Cindy/Brenda)