ACM SIGGRAPH Interactions

January 2016 Issue


The slate of candidates for the 2016 ACM SIGGRAPH elections have been announced. This year, there are three director-at-large positions open on the ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee. The candidates for these positions are as follows:

  • Tomasz Bednarz
  • Carolina Cruz-Neira
  • Mark Elendt
  • Alyn Rockwood
  • Wenping Wang

In accordance with the SIG Bylaws, additional candidates may be placed on the ballot by petition. Visit the ACM elections page for or more information.

Specialized Conferences


ACM SIGGRAPH regularly partners with other groups to sponsor, co-sponsor, or grant "in-cooperation" status to numerous conferences, workshops, and technical meetings of interest to our community. These events tend be highly focused and provide ample opportunity for networking and interaction. Visit our specialized conferences page for more information on upcoming events and details on how to apply for sponsorship or in-cooperation status for your conference.

Meet Our Members


In an organization comprised of thousands of extraordinary individuals united by a shared passion for computer graphics, there's no shortage of fascinating stories to tell. Through our ongoing web feature, "Member Profiles," and interviews published in our news section, we illuminate the people who help to shape and sustain ACM SIGGRAPH. This month, we explore the lives and careers of long-time members Stephen Spencer, James O'Brien and John Fujii.

PhD Award Deadline


The deadline for nominations for this year's Doctoral Dissertation Award has been extended to February 15. This is the first year the award will be given, lending additional significance to the honor. The award recognizes a recent doctoral candidate who has successfully defended and completed his or her Ph.D. dissertation and has already made a notable contribution to the field. Nominations may be submitted online.



Connect with ACM SIGGRAPH