Award Nominations


Bert Herzog
Awards Committee
16 Haverhill Court
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48105 USA
The Computer Graphics Achievement Award

Awarded annually to recognize a major accomplishment that provided a quantum advance in the state of the art of computer graphics that is still significant and apparent. The award is accompanied by an honorarium.

Past recipients of the Computer Graphics Achievement Award are James F. Blinn, James H. Clark, Loren Carpenter, Turner Whitted, Robert L. Cook, Alan H. Barr, John E. Warnock, Richard Shoup and Alvy Ray Smith, James T. Kajiya, Henry Fuchs, Patrick Hanrahan, Kenneth E. Torrance, Kurt Akeley, and Marc Levoy.

The Steven Anson Coons Award for Outstanding Creative Contributions to Computer Graphics

This award, presented during odd-numbered years, is to recognize long-term creative impact on the field of computer graphics through a personal commitment over an extended period of time. The award is accompanied by an honorarium.

The Steven Anson Coons Award has been presented to Ivan E. Sutherland, Pierre Bézier, Donald P. Greenberg, David C. Evans, Andries van Dam, Edwin Catmull, and Jose Encarnação.

The scope of the areas of accomplishment for award recipients encompasses both theory and application including, but not limited to, works of art, development of algorithms, hardware design, and innovative application of computer graphics. Neither award, however, is intended solely to recognize service to SIGGRAPH. The SIGGRAPH Awards Committee reviews the nominations, evaluates the contributions of the nominees, and selects award recipients.


The recipients of these awards need not be members of ACM or SIGGRAPH. They will be invited to attend SIGGRAPH 97 as SIGGRAPH guests of honor.

The deadline for award nominations was 8 January 1997.