Comments Search Site Map Main
 Email News Release Service SIGGRAPH 2000
For Immediate Release
24 March 2000
For further information:
Sheila Hoffmeyer/Ann Kilhoffer-Reichert
+1.312.644.6610 x3220
+1.312.245.1083 fax
Frederick P. Brooks, Jr. to Deliver Turing Award Lecture at SIGGRAPH 2000
(Chicago) -- Frederick P. Brooks, Jr., recipient of the 1999 A.M. Turing Award, delivers his lecture on "The Design of Design" on Tuesday, 25 July 2000 during SIGGRAPH 2000. SIGGRAPH 2000 is expected to bring over 25,000 computer graphics and interactive technology professionals from six continents to New Orleans for the weeklong conference, 23-28 July 2000. A comprehensive technical program and special events focusing on research, art, animation, and interactive technologies are planned. SIGGRAPH 2000 includes a three-day exhibition of products and services for the computer graphics and interactive marketplace from 25 - 27 July 2000.
Brooks was chosen to receive the Turing Award for his landmark contributions to computer architecture, operating systems and software engineering -- contributions that have stood the test of time and shaped the way we think about computing. The A.M. Turing Award is AC's most prestigious technical award. It is considered to be the Nobel Prize of computing.
"SIGGRAPH is honored that Dr. Books has chosen the annual conference as the place to deliver his Turing Award lecture," said Jackie White, SIGGRAPH 2000 chair from California State University, Los Angeles. "Dr. Brooks has been a leader in the computer graphics community for many years. We have been continually enriched by the inspiring work he and his University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students have presented at numerous SIGGRAPH conferences."
Brooks, who coined the term "computer architecture", was manager for the development of the IBM Corporation's System/360 family of computers and Operating System/360 software. He led the team that first achieved strict compatibility, upward and downward, in a computer family. Brooks was also an architect of the Stretch and Harvest computers during his tenure at IBM. With Dura Sweeney, Brooks invented a Stretch interrupt system that introduced most of the features of today's interrupt systems.
Leaving IBM in 1965, Brooks founded the Computer Science Department at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. There, his research on real-time, 3D computer graphics has propelled that field forward, driven by the goal of creating tools that enable scientists and engineers to tackle problems formerly beyond their research. Brooks and his students built the first molecular graphics system on which a new protein structure was solved. They also first proved that haptic display augmenting visual display can significantly improve a scientist's understanding of data.
Brooks received his A.B. in physics from Duke University in 1953 and completed his Ph.D. in computer science in 1956 under Howard Aiken. ACM will present the award during its annual awards ceremony on Saturday, 6 May 2000 in San Francisco. The A.M. Turing Award is the latest ACM Award for Brooks, who is an ACM Fellow. In 1994, he was the first recipient of the Allen Newell award. He also won the Distinguished Service award (DSA) in 1987. Brooks received the National Medal of Technology in 1985.
# # #

SIGGRAPH 2000 Comments Search Main