Share This Page o

2018 CG Achievement Award: Daniel Cohen-Or

Source: ACM SIGGRAPH Citation

ACM SIGGRAPH is delighted to present the 2018 Computer Graphics Achievement Award to Daniel Cohen-Or in recognition of his pioneering contributions to computer graphics. Daniel’s work has touched on a remarkable breadth of topics across his career, and he has especially made seminal contributions in the fields of geometry processing, shape analysis and image processing.

In the early 2000s Daniel and colleagues did some of the first work in reconstructing 3D surfaces from point clouds. They developed a reconstruction approach using Moving Least Squares in “Computing and Rendering Point Set Surfaces”, which continues to be influential today. Later, in “Laplacian Surface Editing,” Daniel was one of the first to work in gradient-domain processing of geometry. This shift in domain allowed breakthroughs in the quality of shape editing, morphing, parameterization, and hole completion.

Daniel’s work also includes a number of new, creative, applications and interfaces for authoring graphics content. Notable examples include harmonizing and improving color schemes in images, hallucinating 3D textures, manipulating photographs paired with geospatial data, action synopsis, media retargeting, and unique interfaces for 3D shape editing.

Daniel collaborates and mentors widely, and many of Daniel’s students and collaborators have gone on to win awards and conduct significant research on their own. Daniel is a Professor at Tel Aviv University. He received his PhD at the State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1991.

Previous Award Recipients

2017 Ramesh Raskar
2016 Frédo Durand
2015 Steve Marschner
2014 Thomas Funkhouser
2013 Holly Rushmeier
2012 Greg Turk
2011 Richard Szeliski
2010 Jessica K. Hodgins
2009 Michael Kass
2008 Ken Perlin
2007 Greg Ward
2006 Thomas W. Sederberg
2005 Jos Stam
2004 Hugues Hoppe
2003 Peter Schröder
2002 David Kirk
2001 Andrew Witkin
2000 David H. Salesin
1999 Tony DeRose
1998 Michael F. Cohen
1997 Przemyslaw Prusinkiewicz
1996 Marc Levoy
1995 Kurt Akeley
1994 Kenneth E. Torrance
1993 Pat Hanrahan
1992 Henry Fuchs
1991 James T. Kajiya
1990 Richard Shoup and Alvy Ray Smith
1989 John Warnock
1988 Alan H. Barr
1987 Robert Cook
1986 Turner Whitted
1985 Loren Carpenter
1984 James H. Clark
1983 James F. Blinn

Back to Award Recipients