[Conference][Main]

Virtual Reality 3D UIs and VE

Chair: Steven Feiner

 3D Digitizing Made Easier by Unstructured Sketching

The user sketches a few strokes and sees a 3D "clay" prototype. When the user adds more random strokes, the prototype surface automatically adapts to follow the pen, and the crease and corner features are automatically detected and aligned.

Song Han
Gerard Medioni
University of Southern California
han@seer.usc.edu

 Feature-Based Haptic Rendering: Architecture, Protocol, and Application

Since haptic rendering requires a very high control rate, it must be separated from graphic rendering and modeling processes. Feature based haptic rendering is a new, general protocol for data exchanging between such decoupled processes.

Juli Yamashita
Cai Yi
Yukio Fukui
National Institute of Bioscience and Human Technology
juli@nibh.go.jp
fukui@nibh.go.jp
ycai@nibh.go.jp

 A Model for Managing Level of Detail With Head-Tracked Peripheral Degradation

A psychophysically based model for reducing peripheral detail with head-tracking. The model indicates that central detail of 30 horizontal and vertical degrees is adequate. This sketch presented experimental confirmation.

Benjamin Watson
Larry Hodges
Neff Walker
Georgia Institute of Technology
watsonb@cc.gatech.edu
neff.walker@psych.gatech.edu
larry@cc.gatech.edu

 Virtual Backdrops

Simplification of architectural, CAD, and other indoor models by dynamically inserting textures into the model. This approach eliminates many of the geometric and temporal discontinuities present in texture-based simplification.

Daniel G. Aliaga
Anselmo Lastra
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
aliaga@cs.unc.edu