[Conference][Main]

Art & Design Art Applications

Chair: Lloyd Treinish

 Virtual Arts Therapies

A combination of traditional arts therapy techniques with computer technology to alleviate symptoms, enhance creativity, induce relaxation, and promote client well-being.

Rebecca Mercuri
Ranjit Bhatnagar
University of Pennsylvania
mercuri@acm.org

 Working Within the Grid: Interactive Foundations Design Problems Using Grid Structures

Using short interactive programs authored in Director to explore visible and invisible grids.

Patricia Nelson
Barbara Giorgio-Booher
Ball State University
pnelson@wp.bsu.edu bgiorgio@wp.bsu.edu

Loren Mork
Cool Software Inc.
lmork@aol.com

 WordNozzle: Painting With Words

An experiment in "painting" with text that enables the user to select any text-only file as input to the "nozzle" and spray words in a continuous stream while controlling the font, size, style, and color of the text.

Jason Lewis
Interval Research Corporation
lewis@interval.com

 Visualizing the Midway Face of the Dixie National Forest

The process used to create a highly realistic animated walk-through of an existing forest.

Donald House
Scott Arvin
Greg Schmidt
Texas A&M University
gschmidt@cs.tamu.edu
http://www-viz.tamu.edu/students/greg/greg.html

Midori Kitagawa DeLeon
The Ohio State University