Beginning with SIGGRAPH 99, The Computer Animation Festival jury has given awards to one or more selected works of particular distinction. The number and title of these awards are entirely at the discretion of each year's jury. Awards given to date are:

"Bunny" - Best of Show
"Masks" - Jury Award

"Onimusha: Opening Movie of PS2" - Best of Show
"Stationen Fachhochschule Hannover" - Jury Honors Award

"Values" - Best Animated Short
"F8" - Jury Honors Award

"The Cathedral" - Best Animated Short
"The Deserter" - Jury Award

"Eternal Gaze" - Best Animated Short
"Tim Tom" - Jury Honors

"Birthday Boy" - Best Animated Short
"Ryan" - Jury Honors

"9" - Best of Show
"Fallen Art" - Jury Honors
"La Migration Bigoudenn" - Jury Honors

"One Rat Short" - Best of Show
"458nm" - Special Jury Honors

Since 1999, the SIGGRAPH Computer Animation Festival has been recognized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as a qualifying festival for the "Best Animated Short" Academy Award. A piece that receives a "Best of Show" or "Best of Category" award in the Computer Animation Festival is automatically qualified for such consideration if it also meets additional Academy requirements. Several SIGGRAPH Computer Animation Festival award winners have subsequently been nominated for or have received an Academy Award.
Details, including information on additional Academy requirements and other ways to qualify for Academy consideration, are available here.