Papers
 
   
  Important Notices
SIGGRAPH 2003 ends on Thursday, 31 July, and Papers begin on Monday, 28 July.
Details

On Monday and Tuesday, 28-29 July, the Papers program continues until 7 pm.
 
Paper Contacts

Bart Adams
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Kapucijnenvoer 12/31
3000 Leuven, BELGIUM
barta@cs.kuleuven.ac.be
Paper: Interactive Boolean Operations on Surfel-Bounded Solids

Tomas Akenine-Möller
Chalmers University of Technology/Ericsson
Mobile Platforms
Rännvägen 6B
412 96 Göteborg, SWEDEN
tompa@ce.chalmers.se
Paper: Graphics for the Masses: A Hardware Rasterization Architecture for Mobile Phones

Brett Allen
The University of Washington
114 Sieg Hall, Box 352350
Seattle, Washington 98195-2350 USA
allen@cs.washington.edu
Paper: The Space of Human Body Shapes: Reconstruction and Parameterization From Range Scans

Pierre Alliez
INRIA
INRIA/PRISME
Sophia Antipolis BP 93
06902 Sophia Antipolis, FRANCE
pierre.alliez@sophia.inria.fr
Paper: Anisotropic Polygonal Remeshing

Maneesh Agrawala
Microsoft Research
1207 NE Ravenna Boulevard
Seattle, Washington 98105 USA
maneesh@graphics.stanford.edu
Paper: Designing Effective Step-By-Step Assembly Instructions

Okan Arikan
1511 Arch Street
Berkeley, California 94708 USA
okan@cs.berkeley.edu
Paper: Motion Synthesis from Annotations

Ulf Assarsson
University of Technology
Rännvägen 6B
412 96 Göteborg, SWEDEN
uffe@ce.chalmers.se
Paper: A Geometry-Based Soft Shadow Volume Algorithm Using Graphics Hardware

Kavita Bala
Cornell University
Computer Science Department
Ithaca, New York 14853 USA
kb@cs.cornell.edu
Paper: Combining Edges and Points for Interactive High-Quality Rendering

David Baraff
Pixar Animation Studios
1200 Park Avenue
Emeryville, California 94608 USA
deb@pixar.com
Paper: Untangling Cloth

Jeff Bolz
California Institute of Technology
MSC #121
Pasadena, California 91126 USA
bolz@its.caltech.edu
Paper: Sparse Matrix Solvers on the GPU: Conjugate Gradients and Multigrid

Michael Cammarano
Stanford University
P. O. Box 17629
Stanford, California 94309 USA
mcammara@graphics.stanford.edu
Paper: Shadow Silhouette Maps

Yung-Yu Chuang
The University of Washington
4005 15th Avenue NE #402
Seattle, Washington 98105 USA
cyy@cs.washington.edu
Paper: Shadow Matting and Compositing

Michael F. Cohen
Microsoft Research
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, Washington 98052 USA
mcohen@microsoft.com
Paper: Wang Tiles for Image and Texture Generation

Paul Debevec
University of Southern California
13274 Fiji Way, 5th Floor
Marina del Rey, California 90292 USA
debevec@ict.usc.edu
Paper: Linear Light Source Reflectometry

Doug DeCarlo
Rutgers University
Department of Computer Science
110 Frelinghuysen Road
Piscataway,New Jersey 08854-8019 USA
decarlo@cs.rutgers.edu
Paper: Suggestive Contours for Conveying Shape

Mathieu Desbrun
University of Southern California
3737 Watt Way, PHE 434
Los Angeles, California 90089 USA
desbrun@usc.edu
Paper: Discrete Multiscale Vector Field Decomposition

Yoshinori Dobashi
Hokkaido University
Kita 13, Nishi 8, Kita-ku
Sapporo 060-8628 JAPAN
doba@nis-ei.eng.hokudai.ac.jp
Paper: Linear Algebra Operators for GPU Implementation of Numerical Algorithms

Iddo Drori
Tel Aviv University
School of Computer Science
Tel Aviv 69978 ISRAEL
idrori@tau.ac.il
Paper: Fragment-Based Image Completion

Irfan Essa
Georgia Institute of Technology
GVU Center/College of Computing
801 Atlantic Drive
Atlanta, Georgia 30345-1409 USA
irfan@cc.gatech.edu
Paper: GraphCut Textures: Image and Video Synthesis Using Graph Cuts

Adam Finkelstein
Princeton University
Computer Science Department
35 Olden Street
Princeton, New Jersey 08544 USA
af@cs.princeton.edu
Paper: Coherent Stylized Silhouettes

Shachar Fleishman
Tel Aviv University
School of Computer Science
Ramat Aviv
Tel Aviv 69978 ISRAEL
shacharf@cs.tau.ac.il
Paper: Bilateral Mesh Denoising

Michael Goesele
Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik
Stuhlsatzenhausweg 85
66123 Saarbrücken, GERMANY
goesele@mpi-sb.mpg.de
Paper: Accurate Light Source Acquisition and Rendering

Craig Gotsman
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Computer Science Department
Haifa 32000 ISRAEL
gotsman@cs.technion.ac.il
Paper: Fundamentals of Spherical Parametrization for 3D Meshes

Radek Grzeszczuk
Intel Corporation
2200 Mission College Boulevard
Santa Clara, California 95052 USA
radek.grzeszczuk@intel.com
Paper: Nonlinear Optimization Framework for Image-Based Modeling on Programmable Graphics Hardware

Eran Guendelman
Stanford University
Computer Science Department
353 Serra Mall, Stanford University
Stanford, California 94305-9020 USA
erang@stanford.edu
Paper: Nonconvex Rigid Bodies With Stacking

Baining Guo
Microsoft Research Asia
3F, Beijing Sigma Building, No 49 Zhichun Road
Haidian District
Beijing 100080 CHINA
bainguo@microsoft.com
Paper: View-Dependent Displacement Mapping
Paper: Synthesis of Progressively Variant Textures on Arbitrary Surfaces

Roger D. Hersch
École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
1015 Lausanne, SWITZERLAND
rd.hersch@epfl.ch
Paper: Reproducing Color Images With Embedded Metallic Patterns

Martin Isenburg
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Campus Box 3175, Sitterson Hall
Computer Science
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27516 USA
isenburg@cs.unc.edu
Paper: Out-of-Core Compression for Gigantic Polygon Meshes

Charles Jacobs
Microsoft Research
203 Bellevue Avenue E, #33
Seattle, Washington 98102 USA
cjacobs@microsoft.com
Paper: Adaptive Grid-Based Document Layout

Doug L. James
Carnegie Mellon University
5000 Forbes Avenue
Robotics Institute
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15213 USA
djames@cs.cmu.edu
Paper: Precomputing Interactive Dynamic Deformable Scenes

Henrik Wann Jensen
University of California, San Diego
Computer Graphics Laboratory
CSE, Gilman Drive 9500
La Jolla, California 92093-0114 USA
henrik@cs.ucsd.edu
Paper: Structured Importance Sampling of Environment Maps

Thouis R. Jones
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
NE43-253
200 Technology Square
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139 USA
thouis@mit.edu
Paper: Non-Iterative, Feature-Preserving Mesh Smoothing

Kolja Khäler
Max-Planck-Institut fürInformatik
Stuhlsatzenhausweg 85
66123 Saarbrücken, GERMANY
kaehler@mpi-sb.mpg.de
Paper: Reanimating the Dead: Reconstruction of Expressive Faces from Skull Data

Sing Bing Kang
Microsoft Corporation
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, Washington 98052 USA
sbkang@microsoft.com
Paper: High Dynamic Range Video

Andrei Khodakovsky
California Institute of Technology
256-80, Caltech
Pasadena, California 91125 USA
akh@cs.caltech.edu
Paper: Globally Smooth Parameterizations with Low Distortion

Haeyoung Lee
University of Southern California
3737 Watt Way, PHE 404
Los Angeles, California 90089 USA
leeh@usc.edu
Paper: Progressive Encoding of Complex Isosurfaces

Bruno Levy
INRIA
Inria Lorraine/Loria
Rue du Jardin Botanique
54500 Vandoeuvre, FRANCE
levy@loria.fr
Paper: Dual Domain Extrapolation

Tommer Leyvand
Tel Aviv University
Ramat-Aviv
Tel Aviv 69978 ISRAEL
tommer@tau.ac.il
Paper: Ray Space Factorization for From-Region Visibility

Ignacio Llamas
College of Computing
Georgia Insitute of Technology
326682 Georgia Tech Station
Atlanta, Georgia 30332 USA
llamasi@cc.gatech.edu
Paper: Twister: A Space-Warp Operator for the Two-Handed Editing of 3D Shapes

Dinesh Manocha
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Department of Computer Science
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599 USA
dm@cs.unc.edu
Paper: Simplifying Complex Environments Using Incremental Textured Depth Meshes
Paper: Interactive Shadow Generation in Complex Environments

William R. Mark
University of Texas at Austin
Department of Computer Sciences
1 University Station C0500 Taylor Hall 2.124
Austin, Texas 78712-1188 USA
billmark@cs.utexas.edu
Paper: Cg: A System for Programming Graphics Hardware in a C-like Language

Stephen R. Marschner
Cornell University
5159 Upson Hall
Ithaca, New York 14853 USA
srm@cs.cornell.edu
Paper: Light Scattering from Human Hair Fibers

Vincent Masselus
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Department of Computer Science
Celestijnenlaan 200A
3001 Leuven, BELGIUM
vincent.masselus@cs.kuleuven.ac.be
Paper: Relighting with 4D Incident Light Fields

Wojciech Matusik
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
NE43-253 + 200 Technology Square
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139 USA
wojciech@graphics.lcs.mit.edu
Paper: A Data-Driven Reflectance Model

Antoine McNamara
The University of Washington
1540 NW 64th Street, Apartment B
Seattle, Washington 98107 USA
antoine@cs.washington.edu
Paper: Keyframe Control of Smoke Simulations

Vincent Masselus
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Department of Computer Science
Celestijnenlaan 200A
3001 Leuven, BELGIUM
vincent.masselus@cs.kuleuven.ac.be
Paper: Relighting with 4D Incident Light Fields

Wojciech Matusik
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
NE43-253 + 200 Technology Square
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139 USA
wojciech@graphics.lcs.mit.edu
Paper: A Data-Driven Reflectance Model

Antoine McNamara
The University of Washington
1540 NW 64th Street, Apartment B
Seattle, Washington 98107 USA
antoine@cs.washington.edu
Paper: Keyframe Control of Smoke Simulations

Ville Miettinen
Hybrid Graphics, Ltd. and University of Helsinki
Department of Computer Science
Eteläinen Makasiinikatu 4, 6th Floor
00130 Helsinki, FINLAND
wili@hybrid.fi
Paper: Delay Streams for Graphics Hardware

Alex Mohr
University of Wisconsin
8511 Greenway Boulevard #110
Middleton, Wisconsin 53562 USA
amohr@cs.wisc.edu
Paper: Building Efficient, Accurate Character Skins from Examples

Tamara Munzner
The University of British Columbia
Department of Computer Science
Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1Z4 CANADA
tmm@cs.ubc.ca
Paper: TreeJuxtaposer: Scalable Tree Comparison Using Focus+Context with Guaranteed Visibility

Martin Naef
Computer Graphics Laboratory
ETH Z&7uml;rich
Institute of Scientific Computing
8092 Zürich, SWITZERLAND
naef@inf.ethz.ch
Paper: blue-c: A Spatially Immersive Display and 3D Video Portal for Telepresence

Ren Ng
Stanford University
Gates Computer Science Building, Room 381
Stanford, California 94305 USA
renng@graphics.stanford.edu
Paper: All-Frequency Shadows Using Non-linear Wavelet Lighting Approximation

Duc Quang Nguyen
Stanford University
Gates Computer Science Building, Room 203
Stanford, California 94305 USA
dqnguyen@stanford.edu
Paper: Smoke Simulation For Large Scale Phenomena

James F. O'Brien
University of California, Berkeley
EECS, Computer Science Division
Berkeley, California 94720-1776 USA
job@acm.org
Paper: Animating Suspended Particle Explosions

Carol O'Sullivan
Image Synthesis Group
Trinity College Dublin
Dublin 2, IRELAND
osullica@cs.tcd.ie
Paper: Evaluating the Visual Fidelity of Physically Based Animations

Yutaka Ohtake
Computer Graphics Group
Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik
Stuhlsatzenhausweg 85
66123 Saarbrücken, GERMANY
ohtake@mpi-sb.mpg.de
Paper: Multi-Level Partition of Unity Implicits

Miguel A. Otaduy
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Sitterson Hall, UNC, CB#3175
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599 USA
otaduy@cs.unc.edu
Paper: Sensation Preserving Simplification for Haptic Rendering

Mark Pauly
ETH Zürich, IFW C25.2
8092 Zürich, SWITZERLAND
pauly@inf.ethz.ch
Paper: Shape Modeling with Point-sampled Geometry

Patrick Perez
Microsoft Research
7 JJ Thomson Avenue
Cambridge CB3 0FB UNITED KINGDOM
pperez@microsoft.com
Paper: Poisson Image Editing

Ken Perlin
New York University
719 Broadway, 12th floor
New York, New York 10003 USA
perlin@mrl.nyu.edu
Paper: Measuring Bidirectional Texture Reflectance With a Kaleidoscope

Nancy S. Pollard
Brown University
Robotics Institute, Newell Simon Hall
CMU, 5000 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15213-3890 USA
nsp@cs.brown.edu
Paper: Efficient Synthesis of Physically Valid Human Motion
Paper: Perceptual Metrics for Character Animation: Sensitivity to Errors in Ballistic Motion

Emil Praun
University of Utah
50 South Central Campus Drive, Room 3190
School of Computing
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112 USA
emilp@cs.utah.edu
Paper: Spherical Parametrization and Remeshing

Ramesh Raskar
Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories (MERL)
201 Broadway
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139 USA
raskar@merl.com
Paper: iLamps: Geometrically Aware Projector and Self- Configuring Displays

Peter Sand
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
200 Technology Square
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139 USA
sand@mit.edu
Paper: Continuous Capture of Skin Deformation

Thomas W. Sederberg
Brigham Young University
Department of Computer Science
Provo, Utah 84602 USA
tom@cs.byu.edu
Paper: T-Splines and T-NURCCs

Alla Sheffer
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Haifa 32000 ISRAEL
sheffa@cs.technion.ac.il
Paper: Matchmaker: Constructing Constrained Texture Maps

Sung Yong Shin
KAIST
Computer Science Department
373-1 Kusong-dong, Yusong-gu
Taejon 305-701 SOUTH KOREA
syshin@tclab.kaist.ac.kr
Paper: Rhythmic Motion Synthesis and Motional Beat Analysis

François X. Sillion
INRIA
655 avenue de l'Europe
38330 Montbonnot, FRANCE
francois.sillion@imag.fr
Paper: Billboard Clouds for Extreme Model Simplification

John Snyder
Microsoft Research
1 Microsoft Way
Redmond, Washington 98052 USA
johnsny@microsoft.com
Paper: Clustered Principal Components for Precomputed Radiance Transfer
Paper: Bi-Scale Radiance Transfer

Jos Stam
Alias
318 First Avenue South, Apartment 606
Seattle, Washington 98104 USA
jstam@aw.sgi.com
Paper: Flows on Surfaces of Arbitrary Topology

Marc Stamminger
University of Erlangen
Am Weichselgarten 9
91058 Erlangen, GERMANY
stamminger@informatik.uni-erlangen.de
Paper: Sequential Point Trees

Ayellet Tal
Princeton University
Department of Computer Science
35 Olden Street
Princeton, New Jersey 08544 USA
ayt@cs.princeton.edu
Paper: Hierarchical Mesh Decomposition Using Fuzzy Clustering and Cuts

Christian Theobalt
Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik
Stuhlsatzenhausweg 85
66123 Saarbrücken, GERMANY
theobalt@mpi-sb.mpg.de
Paper: Free-Viewpoint Video of Human Actors

Norimichi Tsumura
1-33 Yayoi-cho, Inage-ku
Chiba 263-8522 JAPAN
tsumura@ics.tj.chiba-u.ac.jp
Paper: Image-Based Skin Color and Texture Analysis/Synthesis by Extracting Hemoglobin and Melanin Information in the Skin

Rudiger Westermann
University of Technology, Munich
Boltzmannstrasse 3
85747 Garching, GERMANY
westermann@in.tum.de
Paper: A Framework for Numerical Simulation Techniques on Graphics Hardware

Peter Wonka
Georgia Institute of Technology
College of Computing
801 Atlantic Drive
Atlanta, Georgia 30332 USA
wonka@cc.gatech.edu
Paper: Instant Architecture

Jia-chi Wu
The University of Washington
7531 25th Avenue NE
Seattle, Washington 98115 USA
jcwu@cs.washington.edu
Paper: Realistic Modeling of Bird Flight Animations

Gary Yngve
The University of Washington
114 Sieg Hall
Seattle, Washington 98195 USA
gyngve@cs.washington.edu
Paper: Layered Acting For Character Animation

Bingfeng Zhou
Institute of Computer Science and Technology
Peking University
Beijing 100871 CHINA
cczbf@pku.edu.cn
Paper: Improve Mid-tone Quality of Variable-Coefficient Error Diffusion Using Threshold Modulation






   presentations

   experiences    services
   > COURSES    > ACADEMIC EXHIBITS    > BIRDS OF A FEATHER  
   > EDUCATORS    > ART GALLERY    > GET INVOLVED  
      PROGRAM    > COMPUTER    > GRAPHICSNET  
   > EXHIBITOR TECH
      ANIMATION FESTIVAL    > INTERNATIONAL  
      TALKS    > EMERGING       RESOURCES  
   > INTRO TO
      TECHNOLOGIES    > PATHFINDERS  
      COMPUTER GRAPHICS    > sigKIDS      
   > KEYNOTE ADDRESS /
   > GUERILLA STUDIO      
      AWARDS          
   > PAPERS          
   > SKETCHES &          
      APPLICATIONS          
   > SPECIAL SESSIONS          
   > WEB GRAPHICS