Birds of a Feather
 
  Birds of a Feather FAQs  
  Meeting Space Request  
Welcome to SIGGRAPH 2003 Birds of a Feather! If you would like to get together with people who share your interests, goals, technologies, environments, or backgrounds, you are invited to organize and/or attend a Birds of a Feather event. Questions? Review the Birds of a Feather FAQs.
 
To schedule a Birds of a Feather event, complete the Meeting Space Request form. At the conference, the Birds of a Feather sign-up board in Exhibit Hall D Lobby allows scheduling of impromptu gatherings.
 
SATURDAY

Beyond Silicon: Quantum and Biological Rendering
Saturday, 26 July
6:30 - 8 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Marco Lanzagorta
lnzgrt@cmf.nrl.navy.mil

SUNDAY

Graphics and Perception
Sunday, 27 July
12:15 - 1:30 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Ann McNamara
ann.mcnamara@tcd.ie

Component-Based Visualization and Interaction Environments
Sunday, 27 July
4 - 5 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Arthur Olson
olson@scripps.edu

The 16th Anniversary CG Media Performances and Sake Barrel Opening
Sunday, 27 July
9:30 pm - midnight
American Institute of Graphic Arts
San Diego Center for Design
344 Seventh Avenue
Toshihiro Yatsumonji
tyatsu@cggrand.jp

MONDAY

IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Visualization and Graphics
Monday, 28 July
8:30 am - 4:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Marriott Hall, Salon I
Bowen Loftin
bloftin@odu.edu

ACM SIGGRAPH Public Policy
Monday, 28 July
12:30 - 3 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Bob Ellis
ellis@siggraph.org

3D Printing for Scientific Visualization
Monday, 28 July
1:30 - 2:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Atlanta Room
Michael Pique
mp@scripps.edu

Game Developers BOF
Monday, 28 July
2 pm - 3 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Coronado Room
Jason Della Rocca
jason@igda.org

Web3D Consortium Member Meeting
Monday, 28 July
3 - 6 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Anders Jepsen
exec@web3d.org

Java Game Development
Monday, 28 July
3:30 - 4:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Point Loma Room
Athomas Goldberg
athomas.goldberg@sun.com

Blender Development
Monday, 28 July
4 pm - 6 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Cardiff Room
Ton Roosendaal
ton@blender.org

Massively Parallel Graphics and Visualization
Monday, 28 July
5:30 - 6:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Manchester Rooms
Patricia Crossno
pjcross@sandia.gov

SIG for Visualization Researchers and Centers
Monday, 28 July
6 - 7 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Gary Bertoline
bertolig@purdue.edu

CRCA Computing Arts Cafe Monday, 28 July
7 - 11 pm
ReinCarnation Building
12th and J Streets
Carol J. Hobson
chobson@ucsd.edu

Tokyo ACM SIGGRAPH Professional Chapter Meeting
Monday, 28 July
8 - 10 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
San Diego Ballroom, Salon A
Masa Inakage
inakage@cyberagenz.com

TUESDAY

sigKIDS Software for Learning Workshop
Tuesday, 29 July
9 am - noon
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Erik Viirre
eviirre@ucsd.edu

Cg-Char
Tuesday, 29 July
noon - 1 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
George Castro
gcastro3d@yahoo.com

Digital Arts Histories
Tuesday, 29 July
noon - 2 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Art Gallery Digital Animation, Room 6 AB
Michael Wright
mrwstudios@earthlink.net

Computer Graphics Research in Undergraduate Institutions
Tuesday, 29 July
1 - 2 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
William Joel
joelw@wcsu.edu

Women in Animation Pow-Wow
Tuesday, 29 July
2 - 3 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Coronado Room
Kellie-Bea Cooper
kellie-bea@kellie-bea.com

OpenML BOF
Tuesday, 29 July
2 pm - 3:30 pm
Clarion Hotel Bay View
Grand Ballroom
Elizabeth Riegel
elizabeth@eriegelconsulting.com

OZONE: Art, A-Life, Archaeology
Tuesday, 29 July
3 - 5 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Kevin Cain
kevin@pelleas.org

Virtual LEGO: Intro to Free 3D LEGO Modeling Software
Tuesday, 29 July
3:30 - 4:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Green Room
Tim Courtney
tim@zacktron.com

OpenGL ES BOF
Tuesday, 29 July
3:30 - 5 pm
Clarion Hotel Bay View
Grand Ballroom
Elizabeth Riegel
elizabeth@eriegelconsulting.com

Open Scene Graph BOF
Tuesday, 29 July
4 - 5 pm
Clarion Hotel Bay View
Bayview Room
Don Burns
don@andesengineering.com

Ringling School of Art and Design Alumni Reception
Tuesday, 29 July
4:30 - 6:30 pm
Wyndham Emerald Plaza
Pearl Room
Terri Arnell
tarnell@ringling.edu

VR Juggler BOF
Tuesday, 29 July
5:30 - 6:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Marriott Hall, Salon 2
Josh Brown
browner@iastate.edu

JOGL - Java Bindings for OpenGL
Tuesday, 29 July
6:30 - 8:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Point Loma Room
Athomas Goldberg
athomas.goldberg@sun.com

OpenGL BOF
Tuesday, 29 July
8 - 9:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Marriott Hall, Salon 5
Chelsea Palmer
chelsea@sgi.com

UNC Chapel Hill Reunion
Tuesday, 29 July
9 - 11 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Marriott Hall, Section 1
Anselmo Lastra
lastra@cs.unc.edu

Molecular Graphics
Tuesday, 29 July
1:30 - 2:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
San Francisco Room
Michael Pique
mp@scripps.edu

CinePaint and Open Source
Tuesday, 29 July
4 - 6 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Torrey Rooms
Robin Rowe
rower@movieeditor.com

Computer Graphics Pioneers
Tuesday, 29 July
6 - 9 pm
Manchester Grand Hyatt Hotel
Manchester Ballroom, Section D
Sherry Keowen
sherry@wgn.com

Stony Brook Center for Visual Computing Reunion
Tuesday, 29 July
6:30 - 9:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Rancho Las Palmas Room
Arie Kaufman
ari@cs.sunysb.edu

OpenSG BOF
Tuesday, 29 July
7 - 8 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Dirk Reiners
dirk@opensg.org

Web 3D Showcase
Tuesday, 29 July
7 - 9 pm
Horton Grand Hotel
Regency A & B
Leonard Daly
daly@realism.com



WEDNESDAY

SPEC/GPC Press Conference
Wednesday, 30 July
7 - 10 am
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Erin Hatfield
erinh@cramco.com

The Future of YLEM: A.U.S.T.
Wednesday, 30 July
10:30 am - noon
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Santa Rosa Room
Barbara Lee
ylem@ylem.org

ACM SIGGRAPH Carto BOF
Wednesday, 30 July
12:30 - 1:30 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24B
Theresa-Marie Rhyne
rhyne@siggraph.org

OPEN-R Robot Programming SIG
Wednesday, 30 July
1 - 2:30 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Leucadia Room
John DeCuir
john.decuir@am.sony.com

X3D Programmable Shaders
Wednesday, 30 July
3 - 5 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Rancho Las Palmas Room
Tony Parisi
tparisi@mediamachines.com

An Invitation to Share Web 3D Classrooms for Educators
Wednesday, 30 July
4 - 5 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Guerilla Studio, Room 11
Don Wass & Pat Johnson
patjoh1@earthlink.net

ACCAD Alumni Reception
Wednesday, 30 July
4 - 6 pm
Clarion Hotel Bayview
Gaslamp Room
Elaine Smith
smith.3560@osu.edu

University of Arizona College of Fine Arts Alumni and Friends
Wednesday, 30 July
4 - 6 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Coronado Room
Deborah Correa
dlcorrea@email.arizona.edu

Chicks of a Feather
Wednesday, 30 July
4 - 6 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Cardiff Room
Kay Cloud
kaycloud@mindspring.com

Christians in Animation
Wednesday, 30 July
4 - 6 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Manchester Room
Aaron Dennis
aaron@a-d-studio.com

CGEMS - Computer Graphics Educational Materials Server
Wednesday, 30 July
4:30 - 6 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Joaquim Jorge
jorgej@acm.org

Purdue University Reunion
Wednesday, 30 July
5 - 7 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Torrey Rooms
Jim Sprinkles
jsprink@purdue.edu

THURSDAY

DIVERSE: Open-Source VR and Simulation API
Thursday, 31 July
10 am - noon
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
John Kelso
kelso@vt.edu

ISEA Inter-Society for Electronic Art
Thursday, 31 July
noon - 1:30 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Cynthia Beth Rubin
info@isea-web.org

Blender Round-up and Future
Thursday, 31 July
1 - 5 pm
San Diego Marriott Hotel & Marina
Del Mar Room
Ton Roosendaal
ton@blender.org

The Future of SIGGRAPH
Thursday, 31 July
4:15 - 5:30 pm
San Diego Convention Center
Room 24A
Ramon Ford
ramon_ford@siggraph.org



   presentations

   experiences    services
   > COURSES    > ACADEMIC EXHIBITS    > BIRDS OF A FEATHER  
   > EDUCATORS    > ART GALLERY    > GET INVOLVED  
      PROGRAM    > COMPUTER    > GRAPHICSNET  
   > EXHIBITOR TECH
      ANIMATION FESTIVAL    > INTERNATIONAL  
      TALKS    > EMERGING       RESOURCES  
   > INTRO TO
      TECHNOLOGIES    > PATHFINDERS  
      COMPUTER GRAPHICS    > sigKIDS      
   > KEYNOTE ADDRESS /
   > GUERILLA STUDIO      
      AWARDS          
   > PAPERS          
   > SKETCHES &          
      APPLICATIONS          
   > SPECIAL SESSIONS          
   > WEB GRAPHICS